Class Notes – December 2019

Have you recently celebrated a wedding, baby, new job, promotion, or honor? Been published, moved into a new home, or welcomed a grandchild? Share your news with the CSU alumni family by submitting a class note. Approved class notes will be published here and in Colorado State University Magazine.

Road Trip, by Barbara Fleming


Barbara Flemming (B.A., ’67; M.A., ’70) has published a new novel, Road Trip (Penstemon Publications, 2019), which tells the story of two women who take a road trip to Chicago in 1932 in a 1927 Model T Ford pickup.

Dianne M. Sharr (B.A., ’67) and her husband, Seth
Dianne M. Sharr (B.A., ’67) and her husband, Seth

Dianne M. Sharr (B.A., ’67) and her husband, Seth, recently celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary with family and friends at Backstreet Café in Houston, Texas. They have two daughters and lived twice in the Netherlands and twice in Saudi Arabia. Dianne received an M.A. in French from the University of Houston in 1989 and was an adjunct ESL professor at local colleges.


Victoria Sladek (B.A., ’74) retired from Colorado Department of Transportation after completing 24 years of state service as an Administrative Assistant III.

Bob Parker


Robert (Bob) Parker (BS ’86) received the Distinguished Leadership Lifetime Achievement award from the Oregon chapter of the American Planning Association. This award recognizes a person for their lifetime commitment and contribution to the planning profession and/or to the Oregon Chapter of the American Planning Association. Bob has served as the Director of the Institute of Policy Analysis & Engagement at the University of Oregon for the past 20 years.


Keri Reisbeck
Keri Reisbeck

Sara Easterly (B.A., ’94) recently published her memoir, Searching for Mom, a mother-daughter story from an adoptee’s perspective. Author Michelle DeRusha describes it as a book about “our common quest for wholeness, meaning, connection, belonging, and truth.”

Keri Reisbeck (B.S., ’95) has been tapped by Effectv, the advertising sales division of Comcast Cable, to lead human resources for the newly rebranded company. The 21-year Comcast veteran is charged with setting the strategic direction of the company’s HR function through employee and organizational development initiatives.

Chris Varallo
Chris Varallo

Christopher Varallo (B.A., ’95) was elected president of Witherspoon Kelley, where he has practiced law for more than 20 years. Witherspoon Kelley is the oldest law firm in the state of Washington, founded in 1884, with offices in Spokane, Washington, and Coeur D’Alene, Idaho. In addition to practicing law full time, Christopher is also an adjunct professor at Gonzaga University School of Law, teaching legal research and writing.



 In Memoriam

*CSU Alumni Association member


William Hoekstra (B.S., ’50)

Stanley Bishop (M.A., ’51)

Raymond Fidino (B.A., ’52)

Herbert Stwalley (B.S., ’50)

*Marian Pike B.S., ’51; M.S., ’56)

Bob Gibbons (B.S., ’52)

*Jack Maddux (B.S., ’53)

Lt Col Glen Oslund, USAF (B.S., ’53)

Bill Burt (B.S., ’54)

Phillip Boucher (B.S., ’56)

*Bryan Hoffner (B.S., ’56)

Effa Marker (B.S., ’56)

Margaret Billings (B.S., ’57)

Dr. Eldon Reeves (B.S., ’57; M.S., ’59)

*Chuck Williams (B.S., ’57)

Dr. Carl Burtis, Jr. (B.S., ’59)

Denny Lynch (B.S., ’59; M.S., ’67; Ph.D., D.V.M., ’74)

*Kenneth Sloan (B.S., ’59; D.V.M., ’60; M.S., ’62; Ph.D., ’65)


Don Allen  (D.V.M., ’60)

Victor Weyers (B.S., ’60)

Joe Harris (CERT, ’65; B.A., ’65; M.Ed., ’74)

Gerald Wergland (B.S., ’67)

Robert Palmer (B.S., ’69; M.S., ’94)


Tom Rowan (B.S., ’70)

Daniel Santefort (B.S., ’71)

Brent Dawson (B.S., ’74)

David Murphy (B.S., 75)

Pamela Purmort (B.A., ’77)


*Jim Gray (B.S., ’81)

John Barcay, Ph.D. (B.S., ’82)

Marjorie Slotten (M.Ed., ’87)

Robin Clark  (B.S., ’88)


Renee Hertz  (B.S., ’91)


Brandon Bianco  (B.A., ’06)


Sam Peterson (B.A., ’12)

Chuck Bradley (B.S., ’17)

Sara Thompson (B.S., ’17)

Alumni non-graduates

Denis Kjosness

Tom Koshio

Donald VanArsdale

Faculty and Staff

Charles Basham, Ph.D.

Shirley Mitchell

Dora Pierson


Pamela Aki

Edith Brady

Harvey Green

Donna Knappenberger

Dr. David Robertshaw

Alice Sholine

Evelyn Stewart